Home » Sean Payton, Dennis Allen ranked high by betting service for NFL Coach of Year honors

Sean Payton, Dennis Allen ranked high by betting service for NFL Coach of Year honors

(Photo: Parker Waters)

The Denver Broncos were 5-12 a year ago as Russell Wilson struggled mightily at quarterback. A coaching change ensued and former New Orleans Saints coach Sean Payton got the job.

The respect for Payton in the industry, as a coach, is plentiful. He is a proven winner.

Denver certainly respected Payton enough to give up a first-round pick to the Saints to get him.

Now, the respect is reflected by at least one service.

www.SportsBetting.ag released its odds for NFL Coach of the Year honor earlier today.

Payton is the betting favorite of the site to win the honor in 2023 at 7-1 odds. No other coach checked in at better than 10-1 odds.

The trend in recent years is for new head coaches to win the award.

Brian Daboll, Kevin Stefanski, Matt Nagy and Sean McVay each captured the honor in their first years with the Giants, Browns, Bears and Rams, respectively.

Matt Eberflus of the Chicago Bears is the second choice at 10-1.

Interestingly, another pair of coaches with deep ties to New Orleans are tied for the third favorite to capture Coach of the Year honors.

Former Saints player and assistant head coach Dan Campbell and current Saints head coach Dennis Allen are each listed at 12-1.

The Saints were a disappointing 7-10 last season but have made nice additions to the roster in a weak division. Campbell did an excellent job with the Lions, guiding them to a 9-8 record, their first winning season since 2017, narrowly missing the playoffs.

Todd Bowles of Tampa Bay is the longest shot at 75-1.

NFL awards odds are updated daily on this page: https://www.sportsbetting.ag/sportsbook/futures-and-props/nfl-player-futures

Here is a current list of the odds for NFL Coach of the Year from www.sportsbetting.ag:

2023 Coach of the Year Odds
Sean Payton 7-1
Matt Eberflus 10-1
Dan Campbell 12-1
Dennis Allen 12-1
Kyle Shanahan 16-1
DeMeco Ryans 20-1
Frank Reich 20-1
Mike McDaniel 22-1
Arthur Smith 25-1
Doug Pederson 25-1
John Harbaugh 25-1
Matt Lafleur 25-1
Mike Tomlin 25-1
Robert Saleh 25-1
Shane Steichen 25-1
Andy Reid 28-1
Brian Daboll 28-1
Kevin O’Connell 28-1
Nick Sirianni 28-1
Zac Taylor 28-1
Bill Belichick 33-1
Brandon Staley 33-1
Jonathan Gannon 33-1
Josh McDaniels 33-1
Mike Vrabel 33-1
Pete Carroll 33-1
Sean McVay 33-1
Kevin Stefanski 40-1
Mike McCarthy 40-1
Ron Rivera 50-1
Sean McDermott 50-1
Todd Bowles 75-1